Curve Modifier?

Hi,

I am quite new to notch so forgive me, if I just don’t know better and the solution already exists:

I would love to have a modifier that changes a value via a curve.
A bit like “curve editor meets range remap”.

Is there a way to already achieve this (without keyframes)?

Best regards, C

This isn’t currently possible in a node, though we are looking at this functionality for 1.0.

I did make a Bin which does this reasonably well, but you do need to keyframe the internals. check out the keyframe remap bin.
Essentially by key framing the y property on the null, you can then use time stretch to move backwards and forwards along the keyframed curve you created.

– Ryan

Coming from vvvv (and having used a plethora of node-based programming systems within the last two decades) I’m still having a really hard time to adapt to notch patching logic. Your solution sounds legit, but how the hell do I connect this to the parameter I want to control? There’s a group with an output but I can’t connect it to the parameter this way? Do I connect the extractor directly to _ let’s say - the radius of a sphere? Or do I use the output? Or do I ungroup the bin? Seems like controlling the radius of a shape3d-sphere isn’t possible with this setup anyway… but why??

Sorry, I know, this is really some noob questions, but I can’t find any information on groups in the manual, on youtube or where ever and there’s so much concepts in notch that I don’t really get right now :-/ I even coded me my own Keyboard Modifier in JS, because I didn’t get the existing node to work as i would have expected… which worked very well by the way :smiley:

Thx anyway, I’ll try to get it up and running. Lot’s to learn, a long way to go…

So bins are just basically groups of nodes wrapped under a single group node. They have inputs and outputs, and a parent.