Particle morphing / destination, from one video to another

Hi there !

I’m new to Notch and I haven’t been able to find a solution to this problem online, so here I am !

I want to transform a video into a particle generated fluid (this part works great thanks to the templates )
but then the fluid has to morph into another image
It doesn’t work if I try to change the emitting image over time because it’s only the source of the particles that changes,
It has to be the destination of the particles

Like I need the particles to start from a video, change into the fluid with the colors of the first video (this part is ok) and then, as a destination and not a source, change color and arrive to morph into a second video

I hope that’s clear enough

I’m using the basic video > optical flow > particle > field template which works great for the first part, but then I’m stuck

I tried to play with different image effectors but it doesn’t work

Maybe it’s very simple and I just don’t know which node would create that effect, or maybe it’s just not possible

Thanks in advance for your help

1 Like

I’m going to piggyback on this post. (Sorry @erbaf.l if this goes on a tangent!)

Destination target would be amazing, with a variable strength. This way, with a very high / infinite strength, you could pass 16 bit destination pixels into Notch if you’re using something like TouchDesigner as a container, thus letting you calculate particle positions from outside of Notch in real time but use Notch’s rendering nodes for the final visualization. (You can use a particle cache for offline, but not for real time).